If you want to watch the video version of this article, here is the link of the video from my YouTube channel.

Sharda Peeth Corridor : Location, history, religious importance, list of shakti peeths

Sharda Peeth, located in the territory along the Line of Control (LoC) between Pakistan and India, was once considered a prominent center of learning and knowledge in ancient Vedic time. However, since the partition in 1947, it has become an abandoned site.


Sharda Peeth is located in Neelum Valley in Pakistan Occupied Kashmir (PoK) across Kupwara district of Jammu and Kashmir, along the Line of Control (LoC). It is about ~150kms from Muzzafarabad in Pakistan and around ~130kms from Srinagar in India. You can see the exact location in the map below.

Exact location of Sharda Peeth


Sharda Peeth is believed to be more than 5000 years old. As you may know, the history of the Hindu community is considered the most ancient, and there is no second opinion on this. Hinduism is considered even older than the Vedic era because the timescale of Vedic era and the timescale of the composition of the Vedas are two different things. Hinduism is a word that was later used when other religions came into existence. Otherwise, in ancient time, Hinduism was known as Sanatan Dharma.

Currently, if you visit the location, it doesn’t have a temple, but there are ancient rock pillars & stones that have managed to survive over time.

Ancient remains of Sharda Peeth

Story behind Sharda Peeth & other 51 Shakti Peethas in the entire Indian Subcontinent

It is believed that, when Lord Shiva was carrying his deceased wife Devi Sati’s body across Aryavrath (bharat), parts of her body fell in different places of the Indian Subcontinent, creating divine spots called 51 Shakti Peethas all over.

Devi Sati was the first wife of Lord Shiva and the daughter of Prajapati Daksha. Although she was destined to marry Shiva, Daksha disliked Lord Shiva’s appearance. Eventually, Sati married Lord Shiva and was enchanted by the beauty of their new home in Mount Kailash.

One day, Daksha performed a Yagna and invited all devas except Lord Shiva. Sati went to meet her father and pleaded with him to show respect to her husband Lord Shiva, but Daksha refused and insulted Sati in front of his guests. Enraged, Sati cursed her father and his Yagna ritual and set herself on fire, burning to death.

Story of Lord Shiva and Sati

Lord Shiva, grief-stricken by the death of his wife, carried her body on his shoulders and roamed the Aryavrath Indian Subcontinent. The gods eventually asked Lord Vishnu to help restore normalcy to Lord Shiva. Lord Vishnu dismembered Sati’s lifeless body with his Sudarshan Chakra, causing her 51 pieces to fall on Earth. The places where her body parts and jewelry fell became the Shakti Peethas. Lord Shiva stayed in isolation until Devi Sati reincarnated as Devi Parvati.

List of Shakti Peeths

Shakti Peeth refers to a sacred place of eternal power and is considered significant in Hinduism / Sanatan Dharma. It is believed to be the place where a part of Devi Sati’s body or her jewelry fell on the earth. There are a total of 51 Shakti Peeths, out of which 18 are considered as Maha Shakti Peeths. Majority of these peeths are located in India, with a few in neighboring countries like Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.

Lets look at the complete list of all 51 Shakti Peeths along with their locations and the body parts associated with them. If you are a devotee and follower of Hinduism / Sanatan Dharma, this information would be of great importance to you.

18 Maha Shakti Peeth

Adi Shankaracharya’s Ashta Dasa Shakti Peeth Stotram identifies 18 major Shakti Peeths located at different places in India, among which the Peeths at Kamakhya, Gaya, and Ujjain are regarded as the most significant ones.

S.noPart of the body fallenPlaceName of Sakthi
1GroinTrimkomali (Srilanka)Sankari devi
2Back PartKanchi (Tamil Nadu)Kamakshi devi
3Stomach partPraddyumnam (West Bengal)Sri srunkhala devi
4Head hairMysore (Karnataka)Chamundeshwari devi
5Upper teeth rowsAlampur (Andhra Pradesh)Jogulamba devi
6Neck partSrisailam (Andhra Pradesh)Bhramramba devi
7EyesKolhapur (Maharashtra)Mahalakshmi devi
8Right handNanded (Maharashtra)Eka Veerika devi
9Upper lipUjjain (Madhya Pradesh)Mahakali devi
10Left handPithapuram (Andhra Pradesh)Puruhutika devi
11NavelCuttack (Odisha)Biraja devi
12Left cheekDraksharamam (A.P)Manikyamba devi
13VulvaGuwahati (Assam)Kamarupa Kamakhya devi
14Fingers(hand)Prayagraj (Uttar Pradesh)Madhaveshwari devi
15Head partJwala (Himachal Pradesh)Vaishnavi devi
16Breast partGaya (Bihar)Sarvamangala devi
17WristVaranasi (Uttar Pradesh)Vishalakshi devi
18Right HandKashmirSaraswathi devi
18 Maha Shakti Peeths in India

There are 51 Shakti Peeths in Devi Purana.

Shakti PeethLocation
Mahamaya Shakti Peeth, Amarnath, Jammu and KashmirAmarnath, Jammu and Kashmir
Fullara Devi Shaktipeeth, in Attahasa, West BengalWest Bengal
Bahula Shakti Peetha, Bardhaman, West BengalWest Bengal
Mahishmardini Shaktipeeth, Bakreshwar, Siuri townBakreshwar, Siuri town
Avanti, Bhairav Parvat Shakti Peeth, Ujjain, Madhya PradeshBairavparvat Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh
Shri Aparna, Bhabanipur Shaktipith, BangladeshBhavanipur, Bangladesh
Gandaki Chandi Shakti Peeth, Chandi RiverChandi River
Maa Bhramari, Janasthan Panchavati Nasik Shakti PeethJanasthaan
Kottari, Hinglaj Mata mandir, KarachiHinglaj, Karachi
Jayanti Shaktipeeth Temple, Bourbhag Village, BangladeshBangladesh
Yogeshwari, Khulna districtKhulna district in Bangladesh
Jwala or Shakti Siddhida, Kangra, Himachal PradeshKangra, Himachal Pradesh
Kalika, Kalighat, West BengalWest Bengal
Kali in Kalmadhav, Amarkantak, Madhya PradeshAmarkantak, Madhya Pradesh
Khamakya, Guwahati, AssamGuwahati, Assam
Devgarbha/Kankleshwari, Birbhum, West BengalBirbhum, West Bengal
Sravani, Kanyakumari, Tamil NaduTamil Nadu
Chamudeshwari/Jaya Durga, Chamundi Hills, MysoreChamundi Hills, Mysore
Vimla, Murshidabad, West BengalWest Bengal
Kumara Shakti at Anandamayee Temple of West BengalWest Bengal
Shakti Bhraamari, Ratnavali, West BengalWest Bengal
Shakti Dakshayani, ManasarovarManasarovar
Gayatri Manibandh, Pushkar, RajasthanPushkar, Rajasthan
Uma at Mithila, border of Nepal and Indiaborder of Nepal and India
Indraksh, Nainativu, ManipallavamManipallavam
Mahashira, Guhyeshwari near Pashupatinath TemplePashupatinath Temple
Bhawani at Chandranath Hills, BangladeshBangladesh
Varahi, Panch Sagar, Uttar PradeshUttar Pradesh
Chandrabhaga, Junagarh, GujaratJunagarh, Gujarat
Lalita of Prayag 
Savitri/Bhadra Kali, Kurukshetra, HaryanaKurukshetra, Haryana
Maihar/Shivani, Satna, Madhya PradeshMadhya Pradesh
Nandini or Nandikeshwari, Birbhum, West BengalWest Bengal
Sarvashail/Rakini on Godavari river banks at Kotilingeswar TempleKotilingeswar Temple
Mahish Mardini at Shivaharkaray near Karachi of PakistanKarachi of Pakistan
The Narmada Shondesh, Amarkantak, Madhya PradeshMadhya Pradesh
Sundari at Sri Sailam (currently in Bangladesh)Bangladesh
Maha Lakshmi at Sri Shail (currently in Bangladesh)Bangladesh
Devi Narayani, Suchindram, Tamil NaduTamil Nadu
Suganda of Shikarpur (currently in Bangladesh)Bangladesh
Tripura Sundari, Udaipur in TripuraTripura
Mangal Chandika at UjjainUjjain
Vishalakshi, Varanasi, Uttar PradeshUttar Pradesh
Kapalini of Vibash, Medinipur, West BengalWest Bengal
Ambika, Bharatpur, RajasthanRajasthan
Uma at Vrindavan/Bhooteswar Temple of Uttar PradeshUttar Pradesh
Tripurmalini, Jalandhar, PunjabPunjab
Amba at Ambaji, GujaratGujarat
Jai Durga, Deogarh, JharkhandJharkhand
Danteshwari, ChattisgarhChattisgarh
Nabi Gaya, Biraj, JaipurJaipur
51 Shakti Peeths

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *